top of page

Music Ministry

Public·100 members
Jeffrey Moseamedi
Jeffrey Moseamedi

Mos Def-True Magic Full Album Zi

Mos Def-True Magic Full Album Zi

True Magic is the third studio album by American rapper and actor Mos Def, released on January 1, 2006 by Geffen Records. The album features production by Rich Harrison, The Neptunes, Minnesota, Warryn Campbell, and others. The album received mixed reviews from critics and debuted at number 97 on the Billboard 200 chart, selling 11,000 copies in its first week.

The title of the album refers to Mos Def's belief that "true magic" is the ability to create something out of nothing. He explained in an interview with MTV News: "True magic is not about tricks or illusions or special effects. It's about being able to make something out of nothing. It's about being able to manifest your will in the world. It's about being able to do what you say you're going to do."


The album cover features a photo of Mos Def taken by Jonathan Mannion, with no text or logo. The CD itself is packaged in a clear plastic case with no booklet or liner notes. Mos Def said that he wanted to make the album as simple and direct as possible, without any distractions or gimmicks. He also said that he wanted to challenge the conventional ways of marketing and distributing music.

The album contains 14 tracks, with titles such as "True Magic", "Undeniable", "U R the One", "Thug Is a Drug", "Crime & Medicine", "A Ha", "Dollar Day", "Napoleon Dynamite", "There Is a Way", "Sun, Moon, Stars", "Murder of a Teenage Life", "Fake Bonanza", "Perfect Timing", and "Lifetime". Some of the songs address social and political issues, such as poverty, racism, war, and corruption. For example, "Dollar Day" is a critique of the U.S. government's response to Hurricane Katrina, while "Fake Bonanza" is a commentary on the Iraq War and the oil industry.

The album features guest appearances by Jay-Z, Ne-Yo, Georgia Anne Muldrow, and others. Some of the songs sample or interpolate music from other artists, such as Marvin Gaye, The Beatles, The Police, and Nina Simone. The album also includes a hidden track called "Boogie Man Song", which is a tribute to Gil Scott-Heron.

The album was released exclusively through Target stores in the U.S., as part of a deal between Geffen Records and the retail chain. The album was also available for digital download on iTunes and other online platforms. The album did not have any official singles or music videos, although Mos Def performed some of the songs live on various shows and events.

The album received mixed reviews from critics, who praised Mos Def's lyrical skills and social commentary, but criticized the production quality and the lack of cohesion. Some critics also felt that the album was rushed and unfinished, and that it did not live up to Mos Def's previous work. The album has a score of 45 out of 100 on Metacritic, based on 21 reviews.

The album sold 11,000 copies in its first week of release, debuting at number 97 on the Billboard 200 chart. It also reached number 13 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and number 9 on the Top Rap Albums chart. As of June 2007, the album had sold 76,000 copies in the U.S., according to Nielsen SoundScan.

The album was nominated for Best Rap Album at the 49th Grammy Awards in 2007, but lost to Ludacris' Release Therapy.

You can listen to True Magic by Mos Def on [Apple Music] or [SoundCloud].


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...


bottom of page